• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Virology Testing

Hi All,

Hope everyone is doing as well as can be.

I'm still pretty new to MECFS. (First Onset January 2020, followed by remission by September 2020 and then second onset February 2023).

I wanted to get tested for the common viruses and other factors possibly causing/involving my MECFS.

After trying my best to research through these forums it seems the common viruses involved in MECFS are EBV, Herpes, Coxsackie and a few others.

I wanted to know if there was a guide/list for all the possible viruses + other factors to get tested for, so I can request this from my GP/PCP.

Thanks Guys!

Hip

Thanks for that, looks really helpful, will read.

If you go to the viral testing section of the roadmap, this lists all the main viruses linked to ME/CFS, and details which tests ME/CFS doctors use to test for them, and how ME/CFS doctors interpret the test results.

Generally ME/CFS doctors use antibody tests rather than PCR, because the infections are found in the tissues of ME/CFS patients, and not so much in the blood. So if you test using PCR on a blood sample, you will often get a negative result. But if you do an antibody test, ME/CFS patients often have chronically high antibody titres, which to an ME/CFS doctor suggests some ongoing infection in the body tissues.

If you go to the viral testing section of the roadmap, this lists all the main viruses linked to ME/CFS, and details which tests ME/CFS doctors use to test for them, and how ME/CFS doctors interpret the test results.