• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Numbness in fingers and toes hours after taking alpha lipoic acid

linusbert

i took highquality NA-ALA 2 times in dosage of 150mg on different days, and everytime i got after ca. an hour numbness in finger and toes which lasts for the rest of the day and somewhat into the next day.
i will stop now as i dont think this should be.

but whats the explanation behind this?

Faith2007

I'm no doctor or medical researcher, as I believe you know, but I researched this for you. But I am inexperienced with any of the following. ALA can cause problems with thiamine, or vitamin B1 deficiency. See below.

Here is a web page that discusses possible interactions with ALA, which includes lowering B1 levels:
https://www.mountsinai.org/health-library/supplement/alpha-lipoic-acid

This article discusses how low thiamine could cause berberi, where one of the symptoms can be "pain or tingling in arms and legs"
https://www.mayoclinic.org/drugs-su...oute-injection-route/description/drg-20066328

I'm not sure if you are taking this orally or via injection, as I don't know what ca. means, which can make a difference. But I orally take 400mg daily minimum, with no side effects. My CFS doctor says I can go up to 800mg. I used to take 600mg daily before I was cutting costs. And I'm underweight.

You may consider discussing your reaction to it with your doctor. It could be a clue to something else that is going on.

linusbert

I don't know what ca. means