• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Lab test for protozoals

BrightCandle

Many common ones have a blood test available and a few can be found in stool tests. I don't know of one test for them all so it's expensive to cover all the possibilities and mostly it's microscope investigation to find them if a PCR isn't available but they do exist as individual tests that any PCP could do.

LINE

Testing is hit or miss and as @BrightCandle suggests, there are a multitude of possibilities. I have extensive experience with protozoal testing, treatments etc. which means that I have accumulated testing labs and protocols.

Q1: Did you travel outside of the country?

Q2: Any stool testing? (bacterial, parasites, yeast etc.)

Q3; Any treatment attempts?

Peyt

Testing is hit or miss and as @BrightCandle suggests, there are a multitude of possibilities. I have extensive experience with protozoal testing, treatments etc. which means that I have accumulated testing labs and protocols.

Q1: Did you travel outside of the country?

Q2: Any stool testing? (bacterial, parasites, yeast etc.)

Q3; Any treatment attempts
Q1: I am originally from outside of USA although I have been living here since I was 13. I have since traveled outside of the country but my IBS/SIBO problems started long before traveling.

Q2: Yes I have done several stool testing. I have done the Dr. Data which showed no Giardia or Cryptosporidum. I have done regular stool tests which also showed no no Giardia or Cryptosporidum. It was also negative on Salmonella/Shigella, Campylobacter and E coli Shiga.